Festival of Durga Puja and Sharad Navaratri

Durga Puja (Devanagari: दुर्गा पूजा) also called Durgotsava, is an annual Hindu festival celebrated in the Indian subcontinent during the period of Sharad Navaratri (in Sanskrit, Sharada means autumn), to pay homage to the Devi Durga. It is particularly popular in the eastern states of West Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Bihar and Tripura. The festival is celebrated for 10 days, however starting from the sixth day until the ninth day, the Pandals with grand idols of Goddess Durga are open for visitors. The tenth day, also known as Dushami marks the Visarjan (immersion in water) of the idols with grand celebrations and … Read more

Festival of Navaratri

Navaratri (in Sanskrit “nava” means “nine” and ratri means “nights”) is a festivals that is dedicated to the worship of goddess Durga (a popular form of goddess Parvati) and her nine divine avatars, for a period of nine days. As per Vedic Lunar calendar (which has been in existence since long before the Georgian Solar calendar was created), the 12 months of a year are named as Chaitra, Vaisakha, Jyaistha, Asadha, Sravana, Bhadra, Asvina, Kartika, Agrahayana, Pausa, Magha and Phalguna. Navaratri is celebrated 4 times a year, during the lunar months of Chaitra, Ashada, Asvina and Magha. But only two of … Read more